top of page
  • Charlotte Jeffries

Peace

Have you ever had a bad day?


Recently, I’ve been having off days. When I was a kid, a bad day usually meant something like my parents saying no to ice cream for dinner. But as I have gotten older, I have had some really bad days. Regrettable conversations, heartbreaking loses, a fight with a spouse, grief, family drama, etc. The list can go on! On top of the big stuff the reality is our schedules can be busy, sicknesses can go around, but most importantly I have an off day when I push aside my time with the Lord. This happens when work is pushing my limits, we have family events or we are busy serving different ministries. I choose so many other things that demand my attention over spending time with God. Or I choose not to bring it to God simply because I don’t want to work through it.


Recently, an old song came to mind. What a friend we have in Jesus. The line “Oh what peace we often forfeit, oh what needless pain we bear. All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer” has been pulling at my heart strings.


In the busy seasons I push God out because I don’t have enough time to pray. Or I get frustrated when his answers take too long. But I love this song because it reminds me that we carry this needless pain simply because we chose not to give it over to God. We stay in the sad, angry, or disappointed emotions when God is there all along.


I was pointed back to Philippians where Paul writes: ““Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7 ESV


Do not be anxious! What a hard thing to grasp. It sounds easy but in practicality, man can it be a challenge. But boy do I want his peace. I need his peace. I need Jesus to be that comfort and friend that walks alongside me through life. I need him to guard my heart.


So, what are you holding on to? What have you been struggling with in your life and need to give over to the Lord? How different might your days be if you gave your anxious thoughts over to him?


Spend some time with the Lord this week and experience his peace.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page