top of page
  • Charlotte Jeffries

Be Still


I’ve always had a hard time sitting still. As a kid I was always tapping my toes along to a song, playing with a new toy, or moving on to the next thing.


I love the story of Mary and Martha. In Luke Chapter Ten we see that Jesus visits their home. Martha greets Jesus but then immediately goes on to prep the meal and do extra work in the kitchen. But Mary, Mary chose to sit at the feet of Jesus. She couldn’t help but only see one thing to do in that moment, spend time with her Lord. But Martha approaches Jesus frustrated. She begs Jesus to have Mary give her hand. But Jesus says ““Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:41-42 NIV)


Have you ever felt like you are worried about so many things and looking back maybe they aren't as important as you thought? Don’t get me wrong I thrive on a to do list. I make them constantly. I have to admit though, sometimes it can make me too narrow in my mindset. Martha couldn’t see past what needed to be done according to her plan that she missed an incredible moment with Jesus. In that scenario, I would love to say that I would be Mary. But often, I am Martha. I focus on the wrong things. I prioritize incorrectly. My time with Jesus gets overseen by the amount of things I feel need to be done asap! I go to God frustrated with the situation around me. Don’t you see how much I’m doing? Why aren’t you frustrated with this situation?


Recently, Psalm 46:10 has been on my mind. “Be still and know that I am God”(NIV). Be still! I love that the reminder isn’t just that he is God. Which alone is an incredible reminder- but also paired with this idea of stillness. Be still. Even if your to-do list is a mile long. Or your calendar is filled with so many events. I wonder how Martha felt looking back. Maybe she brushed off what Jesus said to her. But maybe she realized the benefit of being still and listening to Jesus. Yes, the food would’ve been late or the kitchen would’ve been a mess, but isn’t a moment of time spent with Jesus worth it?


How are you prioritizing stillness in your life?

God, what are you revealing to me when I simply stop and stay still?




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page