top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristen Kocsis

The Persistent Cat

At our house, we have a very friendly cat named Leo. Often, Leo thinks I exist solely to pet him. I like the cat (sometimes), but sometimes I’m busy, or don’t feel like petting him, or we just swept & I don’t want to cover everything in an avalanche of cat hair. But Leo is determined. He will persistently meow, jump into my lap, headbutt my arms & poke at my face with his paws. There always comes a point where, despite all the excuses, you just can’t help but pet the cat.

Once, Jesus told this story: A widow lived in a town where the judge didn’t fear God or care about people. She would bring her need before the judge, but he did care that she was in need & didn’t have anyone to help her. He didn’t care about bringing justice & righteousness. So he ignored her.


But she kept coming over & over. Eventually the judge said “I don’t fear God or care about people, but she keeps bothering me, so I will make sure she gets what she needs. Otherwise, she’s going to wear me out with her constant asking.” Jesus tells the disciples “Listen to what the unjust judge says. Will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones who cry out to him day & night?”


I always end up petting the cat. The unjust judge helps the widow. And our God hears us when we call. But here’s the difference - I don’t always care about the cat. The unjust judge only wants to make things easier for himself. Your Heavenly Father, though, He loves you. Always. Deeply. Unfailingly. Consistently. He can’t help himself. He is gracious, compassionate, slow to anger & abounding in steadfast love. His heart breaks at injustice. He longs to bring righteousness.


If even the unjust judge & the mediocre cat caretaker respond, how much more will our Heavenly Father listen when we call out to him for help? We can cry out to God with confidence that he hears us, that he sees us, that he cares.


What do you need help with? What would it look like to bring that persistently before the Lord? What pieces of God’s character might help you find confidence to keep bringing those things to him?


The righteous cry out & the Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles.

- Psalm 34:17


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page